Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

01654 702653 (Mon-Fri 9:00 - 16:00)

Refine your search

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Your Basket

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeWelsh Highland Heritage Railwayadd to shortlist

  • Visit Wales VAQAS
  • Food Standards Hygiene (Good)
Welsh Highland Railway

Welsh Highland Railway

Welsh Highland Railway

Steam Railway, next open Tue 21 - Fri 24 May 2019, £4.50-£8.95

The Station Building,
Porthmadog,
Gwynedd,
LL49 9DY

Details

The Welsh Highland Heritage Railway is a small, friendly railway where the train ride is just part of the experience. Our vintage train also stops at the heritage centre, where you can get off for a FREE guided, hands on tour. Climb on the engines and see how things work - Railway Book and Souvenir Shop and period Tea Room. Miniature railway around the works open on busy days - and when we get to the other end - Pen y Mount, why not get off and watch us change the signals and points?

Trains are steam hauled on some days, diesel hauled on others; see website for details.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberWheelchairs availableAccepts groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Facilities for hearing impairedFacilities for visually impaired

Access for 2 wheelchairs on every train. Wheelchair access to all public area. Access statement available.

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Tue 21 - Fri 24 May 2019
Sat 25 May - Sun 2 Jun 2019
Tue 4 - Thu 6 Jun 2019
Sat 8 - Sun 9 Jun 2019
Tue 11 - Thu 13 Jun 2019
Sat 15 - Sun 16 Jun 2019
Tue 18 - Thu 20 Jun 2019
Sat 22 - Sun 23 Jun 2019
Tue 25 - Thu 27 Jun 2019
Sat 29 Jun - Sun 1 Sep 2019
Tue 3 - Thu 5 Sep 2019
Sat 7 - Sun 8 Sep 2019
Tue 10 - Thu 12 Sep 2019
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Sep 2019
Tue 17 - Thu 19 Sep 2019
Sat 21 - Sun 22 Sep 2019
Tue 24 - Thu 26 Sep 2019
Sat 28 - Sun 29 Sep 2019
Tue 1 - Thu 3 Oct 2019
Sat 5 - Sun 6 Oct 2019
Tue 8 - Thu 10 Oct 2019
Sat 12 - Sun 13 Oct 2019
Tue 15 - Thu 17 Oct 2019
Sat 19 - Sat 26 Oct 2019
Mon 28 Oct 2019
Fri 1 - Sat 2 Nov 2019
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Dec 2019
See web site for steam or diesel hauled train dates. On normal operating dats,trains run at 10:30, 11:30, 13:00, 14:00 & 15:00; also at 16:00 on some dates.

Prices

2019 Return Fares: Adult £8.95, Child aged 3+ £4.50 (under 3s free), Family (2+2) £22.50.

Buy souvenirs and tickets

Address

The Station Building,
Porthmadog,
Gwynedd,
LL49 9DY

Location and nearby places

Directions

Plan route to Welsh Highland Heritage Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SH 567391  Lat: 52.93090 Long: -4.13285

The WHHR is located at the north (Tremadog) end of Porthmadog High Street opposite Porthmadog main line railway station, on the A4971 road.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 0 miles from Porthmadog station

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)
  • Facilities for hearing impairedFacilities for hearing impaired
  • Facilities for visually impairedFacilities for visually impaired

Access for 2 wheelchairs on every train. Wheelchair access to all public area. Access statement available.

Connect with us on Social Media