Country Park:Hafod Estate | Hafod Uchtrydadd to shortlist

Hafod Arch

Hafod Arch

Image Credit: Visit Mid Wales
Hafod Arch

Country Park, free entry

Cwm Ystwyth,
Ceredigion,
SY25 6DX

What3words:

Details

Hafod's most celebrated owner, Thomas Johnes (1748-1816), built a new house in this remote location and laid out its grounds in a manner suited to displaying its natural beauties in sympathy with the 'Picturesque principles' fashionable at the time, with circuit walks allowing the visitor to enjoy a succession of views and experiences.

Johnes used the Estate for farming, forestry, and gardening, in each case trying out new ideas and experimental methods. Hafod became an essential destination for the early tourist in Wales.

Today the Hafod estate occupies some 200 hectares of the Ystwyth valley and surrounding hills. Natural Resources Wales, in partnership with the Hafod Trust, manage the estate to conserve and restore the historic landscape, protect its important habitats and provide access and enjoyment for walkers by recreating Johne's path network.

WEDDINGS at HAFOD ESTATE
The Hafod Trust is licenced to hold civil marriages and civil partnerships at the Hafod Trust Office.With seating for up to 45 guests it is the perfect location for a rural wedding; especially for those that love Hafod and its beautiful surroundings.

EGLWYS NEWYDD | HAFOD CHURCH

Eglwys Newydd, also affectionately and more usually known as Hafod Church, is situated in a quiet and picturesque area, on the boundary of the Hafod Estate. Services are held at 10-30a.m. on the 2nd Sunday, of each month and is open to the public every day between 10-30am and 4-30pm from Easter to the end of September.

HAFOD ESTATE WALKING TRAILS
Bedford Monument Walk makes a circuit of Cefn Creigiau ridge, and provides fine views over the estate and avoids descending to the valley floor. The walk leaves the car park by following an estate drive for a short distance, then branches left along a path on the edge of woodland, with views across pasture to Hawthorn Cottage and Pendre, site of Johnes' home farm.

A short climb brings you to a viewpoint and the obelisk, erected in 1805 to commemorate Francis, 5th Duke of Bedford, 'the most judicious and munificent promoter of the National Agriculture'. By a zig-zag descent you reach the return path, which follows an evenly graded route to the church.

Coed Hafod Walk topography is relatively gentle, but the views from it to the distant river, the mansion field and pond, and to the distant hills are very fine and give a sense of discovering the landscape anew. It is not a circular route and walkers wishing to return to their starting place must decide on a route using other walks or estate drives.

Ystwyth Gorge Walk is a spectacular route that takes the walker on a long, narrow loop up one side of the Ystwyth gorge and down the other. It connects with both the lady's and Gentleman's Walks and can be walked as an addition to either. Experience the dramatic River Ystwyth gorge from the Chain Bridge, especially after heavy rain.

Despite the dramatic scenery along the walk, the gradients are relatively gentle, but it is not a route suitable for those who dislike steep drops beside the path. The focal point of the Ystwyth Gorge walk is the Chain bridge and the nearby Gothic Arcade – a ruined stone arch that overlooks the bridge and a bend in the river with remarkable rock formations.

Lady's Walk is one of two classic circular routes created by Thomas Johnes in his first years at Hafod and described by many early visitors. It takes in scenery that varies widely in character, contrasting the relatively gentle landscape of open parkland with narrow wooded valleys and rushing streams.

Gentleman's Walk is the second celebrated Picturesque circuit created by Johnes, passes through wilder scenery and steeper ground than the other walks at Hafod. The starting point for this walk is the Alpine Bridge, one mile from the car park.

Facilities for groupsAccepts groups

Open all the time

Prices

Free entry

Contact

Enquiries

Address

Cwm Ystwyth,
Ceredigion,
SY25 6DX

Location and nearby places

Directions

Plan route to Hafod Estate | Hafod Uchtryd using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SN 759733  Lat: 52.34368 Long: -3.82314

What3words:

HAFOD CAR PARK
From the Hafod Arms Hotel in Devil's Bridge take the B4574 to Cwmystwyth. Pass the The Arch car park and proceed downhill. Turn right shortly after passing the "Cwmystwyth" sign. Go past ADAS Pwllpeiran and proceed to a T junction and turn right. Pass Hafod Church and turn left into Hafod Car Park.

Public transport: Hafod is 3 ½ miles (5.5 km) from the Devil's Bridge terminus of the Vale of Rheidol Railway (no service in winter).

Various cycle routes pass close to the estate: NCN route 81, Lon Cambria and Lon Teifi.

www.traveline-cymru.info

Parking: free

Facilities

  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
Connect with us on Social Media