A picture postcard feel envelops the sleepy fishing village of Aberareon, quite literally in fact, as the Georgian architecture is deemed so picturesque it has been featured on postage stamps. What is now a quiet and quaint town that welcomes tourists was built with the intention to be a bustling sea port. Sited at the mouth of the river Aeron, the harbour was funded entirely by the Lord of the Manor, Rev. Alban Thomas Jones Gwynne in 1807. The buildings, a large proportion of which are listed and were designed by the architect Edward Haycock in an ornamental Regency style, give the town a very distinctive feel that is at odds with the vernacular architecture of much of Wales. Aberaeron's architectural interest does not end there however, as Llanerchaeron, designed by John Nash, is only a few miles away.
Aberaeron offers everything one might expect from a seaside holiday destination; with souvenir shops, award winning beaches and picturesque harbour. Recently Aberaeron has started its own Seafood Festival to complement its annual Carnival and the Cob Festival, showcasing the very best of the Cardigan coast.
Known affectionately as the Jewel of Cardigan Bay, Aberaeron is world famous for the quality of its honey and also features prominently on the Dylan Thomas trail.
It is a predominately Welsh speaking town, with some 70% of the inhabitants able to speak the language, and much of daily life in shops and businesses is conducted through the medium of Welsh here.
The town is noted for its local honey, and more recently the honey ice-cream and honey mustard produced locally.
Open all the time