Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

01654 702653 (Mon-Fri 9:00 - 16:00)

Refine your search

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Steam Railway item typeWelsh Highland Heritage Railwayadd to shortlist

  • Visit Wales VAQAS

Steam Railway, next open Sat 1 Jul - Sun 10 Sep 2017, £4.50-£8.95

VW VAQAS

Welsh Highland Railway (Porthmadog)

Welsh Highland Railway (Porthmadog)

Details

The Welsh Highland Heritage Railway is a small, friendly railway where the train ride is just part of the experience. Our vintage train also stops at the heritage centre, where you can get off for a FREE guided, hands on tour. Climb on the engines and see how things work - Railway Book and Souvenir Shop and period Tea Room. Miniature railway around the works open on busy days - and when we get to the other end - Pen y Mount, why not get off and watch us change the signals and points?

Trains are steam hauled on some days, diesel hauled on others; see website for details.

Baby changing facilitiesCoach parties acceptedCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsFacilities for groupsFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberWheelchairs availableAccepts groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Facilities for hearing impairedFacilities for visually impaired

Access for 2 wheelchairs on every train. Wheelchair access to all public area. Access statement available.

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Sat 1 Jul - Sun 10 Sep 2017
Tue 12 - Thu 14 Sep 2017
Sat 16 - Sun 17 Sep 2017
Tue 19 - Thu 21 Sep 2017
Sat 23 - Sun 24 Sep 2017
Tue 26 - Thu 28 Sep 2017
Sat 30 Sep - Sun 1 Oct 2017
Tue 3 - Thu 5 Oct 2017
Sat 7 - Sun 8 Oct 2017
Tue 10 - Thu 12 Oct 2017
Sat 14 - Sun 15 Oct 2017
Tue 17 - Thu 19 Oct 2017
Sat 21 - Sat 28 Oct 2017
Mon 30 Oct - Sat 4 Nov 2017
Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec 2017
See web site for steam and diesel hauled train dates and times.

Prices

2017 Return Fares: Adult £8.95, Child aged 3+ £4.50, Family (2+2) £21.75, Under 3s free

Also at this Venue

Events at this Venue

date event
Sat 5 - Sun 6 Aug Lace on the Train
Wed 16 Aug Steam and Song
Sat 28 Oct Halloween Trains

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Facilities for groupsFacilities for groups
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Wheelchairs availableWheelchairs available
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)
  • Facilities for hearing impairedFacilities for hearing impaired
  • Facilities for visually impairedFacilities for visually impaired

Access for 2 wheelchairs on every train. Wheelchair access to all public area. Access statement available.

Directions

Plan route to Welsh Highland Heritage Railway using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: SH 567391  Lat: 52.93090 Long: -4.13285

The WHHR is located at the north (Tremadog) end of Porthmadog High Street opposite Porthmadog main line railway station, on the A4971 road.

Parking: free

Accessible by Public Transport: 0 miles from Porthmadog station

Contact

Enquiries

01766 513402

Address

The Station Building,
Porthmadog,
Gwynedd,
LL49 9DY

Connect with us on Social Media